Rachel Podger and Christopher Glynn: Beethoven Violin Sonatas

Royal Northern College of Music Concert Hall, 124 Oxford Road, Manchester, M13 9RD 9th November 2019

Beethoven learned to play the violin as a boy and mastered the piano as a man. His profound understanding of both instruments, and ability to combine them with astonishing invention and originality, is heard in ten sonatas. From the high-spirited first sonata, to the valedictory and enigmatic tenth, via a famously lyrical sonata nicknamed Spring and the epic virtuosity of the Kreutzer – ‘like a concerto’, said Beethoven – violin and piano are engaged in an endlessly fascinating and varied dialogue.

Using 19th century instruments that reflect Beethoven’s ideal, Rachel Podger and Christopher Glynn explore a sonata cycle that, more than any other, opens up new worlds of expression for their instruments. Kathryn Rudge, acclaimed mezzo-soprano, will also be making a guest appearance on the night.

Ludwig van Beethoven Violin Sonata No 1 in D major Op 12 no 1
Ludwig van Beethoven Violin Sonata No 5 in F major No. 24 ‘Spring’
Ludwig van Beethoven Violin Sonata No 7 in C minor Op.30 No.2

Join us for an enjoyable evening of music in the impressive Royal Northern College of Music Concert Hall. Tickets are available from the RNCM website or by calling the box office on 0161 907 5555.

Full price – £25
Senior Citizen – £20
Under 18s – £20
JSA/ESA/IS Claimant – £20
Student – £10

Share on

Make a donation

Please give today to help improve the health and wellbeing of children and adults through the healing power of live music.